2018 Burlington's BEST nominees are announced.

News 100 yellowBy Staff

March 21st, 2019



The news is that the Burlington’s Best award will be given this May for the last time.

There were 28 nominations in eight categories.
Nominations closed March 7, 2019.

The Best is an awards program that honours Burlington’s most outstanding citizens. The winners in all categories will be revealed at the awards celebration on Wednesday, May 8, 2019, at the Burlington Performing Arts Centre.

This year’s nominees are:
BEST awardCitizen of the Year
Jere Hartnett
Karen Phelps
Fareen Samji

Junior Person of the Year
Connor Clark
Ana Cunha
Keziah Oduro
Noor Toeama
Joel Wakem


2017 BEST winners

Senior Person of the Year
Ona Allen
Trudy Csernyei
Sue McBay
Robert Redhead
Alan Stupart

Environmental Award
Salma El Ali
Iroquoia Bruce Trail Club

Arts Person of the Year Award
Gary Fisher
Cheryl Goldring
Sarah Gonyea
Gery Puley
Hayley Verrall


2016 BEST winners

Community Service Award
Kevin Andrews
Kathy DeSantis
Dani Heroux
Greg and Andrea Howard
Jeff Moseley-William

Heritage Award
Joan Downey
Marie Minaker

Accessibility Award

Tickets to this event are $35 per person. A dessert reception will follow the awards ceremony. Tickets can be purchased at the Service Burlington counter at City Hall, 426 Brant St., or by contacting Briar Allison at 905-335-7600, ext. 7458 or briar.allison@burlington.ca.

One winner will be selected in each of the award categories.

Return to the Front page
Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply